45 Degrees F Today! Perfect day to work on Autumn Dream!

Yes that is true we actually saw the temp get as high as 45 Degrees today and sunny.  It is a short and minor reprieve.  Yesterday we managed to miss getting hit with another 5 – 8 inches of snow and only received about a half an inch of rain.  Which promptly froze.  This morning (Sunday) the driveway was an ice skating  rink.  Ive attached several photos below that show just how much snow we have on the ground and on the roof our house.  There is so much snow that schools are closed in placed due to fear of roof collapses.   Also several local barns and houses have had roof collapses.   My unofficial estimate is that we have between two to three feet of snow on the roof in different places.   We have had a break in the snow pattern for about 3 days.   However next week looks like another 2 to 3 inches on Tuesday and possibly another 10 inches on Friday.  No rest for the wicked.  Also since this is the official blog for the Trawler Autumn Dream, I figure I should include some progress report on ongoing winter projects.

Today Beth and I managed to complete the installation of the new CD/I-Pod player in the boat.  Speakers are installed.  The rat’s nest of wiring is tamed (mostly). and I’ve run the new cable for the new radar.  While I was doing some of the stereo installation Beth was scraping loose paint off the solar panels and  removing some uncured silicon caulking from the front windows.  Under the boat cover it was a balmy 65 to 70 degrees F.   Very comfortable for working.  Once I completed closing up the overhead area containing the stereo and other electrical stuff, I moved on to the radar cable installation.  The cable is routed through the overhead in the pilothouse and up through the  radar support post.  Since this new radome is different  than the old one the cable needs to come out of the mounting post and into the back of the new radome.  To make this happen I need to cut a 3/4″ hole in the mounting post.  This post is made of Aluminium and of course I only have a drill bit up to 1/2 inch.  SO today I drilled a 1/2″ hole and had to leave the project till I get a 3/4 bit.   So progress is being made even in a deep winter.  With that I’ll leave you with a slideshow of snow and boat photos!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

