Making a Dingy Cover

In a previous entry I (Beth) mentioned that one of my winter projects was to make a dingy cover out of sunbrella. Kevin is tired of pumping gallons of water out of the dingy after our typical summer rainstorms.

Here are the project details, with photos following.

I used sunbrella that I bought from Marine Consignment of Fall River – it was all cut pieces left over from a canvas maker’s shop – but I figured I would have to piece it together anyway. Using the excellent book “the Complete Canvas Workers Guide” I was able to get through this step by step.

Materials: Sunbrella, Coat’s and Clark “Outdoor”polyester thread, brass grommets, Sta-Set braid (3/16”), and a fiberglass shock-corded tent pole for the center support.  I followed the guidelines and used double-felled seams to minimize water penetration.  The fiberglass tent pole was cut to the correct length, and is held in place in 3 locations with tunnels inside the cover.

All sewing was done on my24 year old New Home machine.  I used 90/10 and 100/12 “Jeans” needles for the sewing machine, and had to tweak the foot pressure and the upper thread tension to almost the max.  For those of you who may care, I also used a walking foot for this project.

I bent quite a few pins…  but didn’t break any needles.  The machine was a bit grumpy at times sewing through 4+ layers of fabric, and at times it decided to jam, but in the end I prevailed and we now have a Dingy Cover.  It is bright yellow!

IMG_6748

The materials.

IMG_6749

Laying out the pieces

IMG_6751

3 main sections sewn with double felled seams

IMG_6752

The center section added

IMG_6753

The center section showing the fiberglass rod in place

IMG_6754

Fitting the corners and darts

IMG_6756

Fitting the bow section

IMG_6757

Finished cover, side view

IMG_6758

Finished cover, aft view

IMG_6760

Finished cover, bow view

 

Leave a Reply

